A Soldier and his dog.

A young man came through my line at work today with a dog on a leash which meant he  was a service dog.  I looked down and saw an intelligent, beautiful brown coon hound with beautiful brown eyes. He had a beautiful presence about him.  I ask the story behind him and this is what the young man told me.

When he was young he watched “Where The Red Fern Grows” and wanted a coon hound ever since. He grew up, went into the military and saw fellow soldiers come home with PTSD. When he got out of the military his goal was to get a coon hound,  train him to be a service dog and then give him to an injured soldier with PTSD.

He got this coon hound as a little puppy from Iowa.  He named him Jobe, pronounced Job like in the Bible.  Jobe is 15 months old and a Red Bone Coon Hound. He is crazy perfect beautiful, brown fur with brown eyes, intelligent, kind and so aware of life around him.

I am soooo thankful I met Jobe today.  I forgot to even ask the soldier what his name was I was so taken with Jobe.  XO

Leave a Reply

